Posted by: secretperson | July 14, 2008

Sainsbury’s Anti-English Labels

I’m afraid the photos on my phone didn’t come out, but I am sure you’ll believe me, right?

Looking at strawberries in Sainsbury’s, I noticed that some had Scottish flags, and some UK flags. Closer inspection showed both were from Scotland! (The producer is listed).

Some scouting around found some English strawberries, no flags, just labelled organic.

Strangely the origins were listed as:
Fife, Scotland
Angus, Scotland
Perthshire, Scotland
and…….
Herefordshire, UK

I didn’t buy any.

Update
I now have a reply from my letter to Sainsbury’s.

Responses

  1. I know how you feel. But what can we do?

    I heard that the EDP were creating something for English Business but it seems like the English Lobby initiative – it’s stuck in a long pipeline.

  2. Have you written to sainsbury’s?

  3. Yes Alasdair I have used their online contact form to register a complaint. I will post any replies up here.

  4. PS Alasdair, a quick look at your blog tells me you are Scottish (the name should perhaps have given it away).

    Hope you can get on board with this, this is a call for consistency, not a complaint about Scottish food! Equating England with the UK/Britain benefits no-one.

    Why England Needs A Parliament have a lot on this subject.

  5. Of course I’m on board with it!

    Sorry if I came across as a bit ‘off’, but often it seems like people complain about these things but fail to take any action to resolve it beyond just complaining to the world at large.

    I’ve written, of occassion, about the interchangability of English/British and agree that it does no-one any favours. Devaluing what it means to be English whilst alienating the rest of the nations within the union. Of course it’s a long standing problem … bu’hey so long as people continue to chip away I’m sure it’ll be overcome eventually. Even if the union has to end to achieve it.

  6. […] English Labelling Reply Following on from my complaint about anti-English labelling I have now recieved a reply to the complaint I made to Sainsbury’s. I reproduce both my […]

  7. […] month the Secret Person made a post about Sainsbury’s Anti-English Labels. The unfair labelling of English food in supermarkets had been bugging me for a while too so I got […]

  8. […] English Labels – the Fight Back begins at Fair Flags I wrote some time ago about Sainsbury’s seemingly anti-English labelling policies, I wrote and complained and recieved a reply. A number of English bloggers have written on this […]

  9. Labels on soft fruit? how much time do you have on your hands?

    After 250 years of subjication by a foreighn power, we have actually have something to moan about.

    Only when your customs, identity and sense of sovregnty have been ground into the dirt can you have any cause to complain.

    How about you discover who you actully are before you remove any more of our rights?

    Anti-english? Dont make me laugh. The farce that we call a union is nothing bur PRO english.

    Good luck trying to establish an english parliament by the way, cos the sooner that happens, the nonesense that is westminister will be disbanded as being irrelevant.

    P.s. dressing up a crusaders at rugby games is NOT cool and only reinforces opinions that you lot are an emperialistic nightmare.

  10. dave:

    Labels on soft fruit? how much time do you have on your hands?

    Far too much, or I wouldn’t run a blog! But little things like this normalise the confusion of Britain and England, which benefits no-one.

    After 250 years of subjication by a foreighn power, we have actually have something to moan about.

    Only when your customs, identity and sense of sovregnty have been ground into the dirt can you have any cause to complain.

    I assume you are Scottish? I thought the Union was 300 years old? But maybe the its the last 50 years have been OK for you? And don’t forget Braveheart was set 700 years ago!

    I don’t deny that England dominated the Union, through shere size if nothing else. But there are still plenty of Scottish customs (Tartan, whisky, ceilidhs), your identity seems stronger than the English. Your sovereignty has only recently re-appeared, but you are currently in a better position than England.

    I suspect you believe we evil English deserve that.

    How about you discover who you actully are before you remove any more of our rights?

    So you’ve had your identity crushed into the ground and we need to discover who we are? As for removing more of your rights, where the hell did that come from?

    For one you have as many, if not more rights than me. And I don’t believe anything in this article even touched on that, no ideas what you are taking about so I can’t really address this point.

    Good luck trying to establish an english parliament by the way, cos the sooner that happens, the nonesense that is westminister will be disbanded as being irrelevant.

    I want to end the Union too. It is a shame anger and bitterness exists like yours that could stop nationalists on both sides of the border make common cause.

    People like me and Alisdair get along fine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

