Posted by: secretperson | December 12, 2007

Terry Pratchett – English Hero

Thanks to The Quiet Man for this story (also here) I hear the sad news that Terry Pratchett has been diagnosed with early Alzheimers.

Pratchett has sold over 55 million books, mainly from his famous Discworld series as well as children’s books. I have a large number of them (not 55 million large!). They are set in a fantasy world, but really are a satire of modern life. There are clever references to high and low culture, fantastic characterisation and intriguing plots. Pratchett is a very very funny man.

I wish Terry and his family all the best.

Responses

  1. Read about it this morning. I’m an uber-fan of Terry Pratchett to the extent that I will probably give up reading regularly if he stops writing. I read his books over and over again and find something new in them every time.

  2. Yes I am a huge fan too, it gives my family something to buy me, they always know the new Pratchett goes down well. I found some explanation of his books online once and couldn’t believe how many jokes I’d missed, and they still had me laughing out loud. I don’t normally care about ‘celebrities’ but this genuinely upsets me.

    It’s sad news, but to be positive they do say that mental exercise can help slow the onset and no-one has a sharper mind than Terry Pratchett.


Leave a Reply

Categories

